## This year, WABA is holding its election using an ON-LINE voting system



To: WABA General Assembly Voting Members From: Sarah Amin, Executive Director, WABA Secretariat Date: 30 April 2012

10850 Penang, Malaysia Tel: (604) 658 4816 Fax: (604) 657 2655 Email: waba@waba.org.my www.waba.org.my

## **Re: Electronic Voting for WABA Steering Committee (SC), 2013 – 2015**

**DEADLINE:** Your vote <u>MUST</u> be received by the Secretariat by Friday, 15 June 2012, 12.00 noon Malaysian time.

Dear WABA General Assembly Voting Members,

The WABA Secretariat is pleased to inform you on the following nominations received for the Steering Committee vacancies, and invites you to vote on positions for regions 1 & 2:

1.	ASIA-PACIFIC :	1. Bridget Ingle, Australia
		2. Carol Bartle, New Zealand
		3. J.P. Dadhich, India
		4. Rukhsana Haider, Bangladesh
2.	LATIN AMERICA & THE CARIBBEAN:	<ol> <li>Irma Chavarria de Maza (Mimi Maza), Guatemala</li> <li>Marina Rea, Brazil</li> </ol>
3.	AFRICA :	1. Hussein H.T. Tarimo, Botswana (uncontested)
4.	NORTH AMERICA :	1. Miriam H. Labbok, USA (uncontested)

Since there are no contenders for the Africa and North America positions, Hussein H.T. Tarimo and Miriam H. Labbok will automatically assume the positions for Africa and North America respectively. Therefore, you only need to submit your votes for the Asia-Pacific and Latin America & the Caribbean positions.

The World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action (WABA) is a global network of individuals and organisations concerned with the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding worldwide based on the Innocenti Declarations, the Ten Links for Nurturing the Future and the WHO/UNICEF Global Strategy for Infant and Young Child Feeding. Its core partners are International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN), La Leche League International (LLLI), International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA), Wellstart International and Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM). WABA is in consultative status with UNICEF and an NGO in Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC). WABA is incorporated in Malaysia as World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action Bhd (847762-P), a non-profit company limited by guarantee.

We hereby submit to you the nomination documents for the six (6) nominees standing for the Asia-Pacific and Latin America positions (as listed above). The nomination documents consist of the nominees' curriculum vitae and personal statement. Note that for the Steering Committee positions for Africa and North America, we include the nomination documents for Hussein H.T. Tarimo and Miriam H. Labbok, for your information only.

Please review all documents carefully before deciding on your vote. Ensure that the person you vote for meets the criteria established for a Steering Committee member who should:

- i) be a mobiliser, networker and communicator;
- ii) have roots in various geographical regions and an international perspective;
- iii) be a key player in institutions and be willing to provide support to WABA;
- iv) have a range of leadership skills and understanding of issues; and
- v) be an endorser of WABA.

Once you have decided, complete the official on-line voting form (url:<u>http://waba.org.my/voting2012.htm</u>).\_\_ Write the name of the persons you vote for on the voting form, your name and your General Assembly position and click 'submit'.

Your on-line voting form should reach the WABA Secretariat latest by <u>12.00 noon</u> <u>Malaysian time on Friday</u>, 15 June 2012 after which voting will be closed.

## **<u>IMPORTANT NOTE</u>**: Fax and email votes <u>will NOT</u> be accepted. Voting must be online only.

For your background information, the current WABA Steering Committee members are:

Marta Trejos - LATIN AMERICA (term ends 31 Dec 2012) Lourdes Fidalgo - AFRICA (term ends 31 Dec 2012) Miriam Labbok - NORTH AMERICA (term ends 31 Dec 2012) Arun Gupta - ASIA-PACIFIC (term ends 31 Dec 2012, but declined 2<sup>nd</sup> term renewal) Felicity Savage - EUROPE (automatic 2<sup>nd</sup> term renewal 2013 – 2015) Audrey Naylor - GLOBAL (automatic 2<sup>nd</sup> term renewal 2013 – 2015)

The Secretariat will tabulate the votes received in the presence of its auditor and solicitor. The election results will be announced to all WABA endorsers and the General Assembly by end June 2012.

We look forward to receiving your votes. The newly appointed SC members will begin their responsibilities on 1 January 2013.

Yours sincerely,

Sarahit mu

Sarah Amin Executive Director